GB40 Reviews

4.52 /5

67 Reviews

81 % Of Reviewers Recommend This Product

Back to Product

Siv

7/28/2016

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful.

Best brand on the market.

I did a lot of research before I settled on this particular jump starter. I definitely made the right choice. It has no problem starting my V8 multiply times with out having to recharge it. It's a bit more expensive than many of the alternatives, but you get what you pay for.

Yes, I recommend this product.

Verified purchase

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Report Abuse

Datrucks

1/15/2017

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful.

Great

start car with, a dead battery that had been turned over in a year.Had to use the low voltage override. Outside temp. 1c,

Yes, I recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Report Abuse

Birdcatcher9

3/23/2018

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful.

A Great Breakthrough In Function, Convenience & Safety

I bought the GB40 about 11 months ago. It has really been excellent. I've given 10 or so jumps to friends and strangers in need. Even jumped my own truck, big 5.3L V8 engine. One car's battery seemed as dead as a doornail, but with its override feature the GB40 got it rockin' again. Love it.

Yes, I recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Report Abuse

Hillbilly From WV

12/31/2018

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful.

GB 40 Review

Saw this at my Subaru dealer and my service rep was touting its ability. I decideded i needed this. Found it at AutoZone. I have used it twice on my John Deere mower. Battery completely dead both times. Second time battery was dead and the. unit was also out of fuel. It took quite a bit of cranking to prime the carburetor and start the machine. Still had better than a half charge. This is the real deal !! I am considering a second one to have one in each vehicle. NOCO offered the GB 40 for 75$ before Christmas and if I see it for that price I will purchase a second one. This is a great ace to have up your sleeve. There is also a great video on YouTube showing real time use where a mechanic started 6 vehicles in below zero temps. All vehicles had dead batteries and we're sitting extended periods of time. Worth the watch to do some easy research.

Yes, I recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Report Abuse

Nicole Brassard

2/18/2020

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.

Un Accessoire Dans Mes Bagages

Nous sommes des personnes très ordinaire ! Nous aimons découvrir le coin de notre pays donc avec le GB40 il arrête à recharger nos cellulaire . Boost nôtre batrie à plat.Nous donne de la lumière ! Etc c’est un accessoire qui est et restera toujours dans nos bagage.

Yes, I recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Report Abuse

Charles

7/10/2020

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.

Very Fine Product. Follow The Simple Directions And You Are Going To Have A Very Rugged And Long Lasting Unit!

I got this way back in June 2018. It is still going strong. The internal battery behaves as one of very high quality. I keep it in my car at all times and periodically test and check it's charge. Charge when/if needed. Follow the directions to the detail regarding charging and how to use it safely. I am very happy with this. Nearly astonishing that it will start a vehicle with a dead battery in cold weather. The warranty is only 1 year but mine has lasted well over that period. If This ever fails I'll simple buy another new one. Nicely built product NOCO!

Yes, I recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Report Abuse

Mahdi

2/11/2021

Hihg Quality

High Quality

Yes, I recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Report Abuse

Jeff

7/29/2021

Couldn’t Be Happier

Fantastic jump starter , perfect for jump starting my 2003 vehicle

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Report Abuse

Andrius Perez

7/28/2016

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful.

Everybody should have one

Excellent device, was able to use it the same day it got here. Charged to full in about an hour and started up my car in less than 30 seconds.

Yes, I recommend this product.

Verified purchase

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Report Abuse

Fred Frazier

5/11/2018

22 of 23 people found the following review helpful.

Great Customer Service!

BRAVO! Miss Dakota BRAVO!

My unit was given to me as a gift, and worked like a charm for about 6mo. Then out of nowhere, plugged the unit up for it's normal charge 20% blinking red light. Charged for the required time frame, and no luck. Unit stayed on 20% blinking red light, no matter what I did. So I reached out to customers service via email , and the next day Ms. Jasmine Dakota responded back with a detailed description of what to do and how to do it. With the shipping battery laws, I got a little bit confused. So sent another email, and Ms. Dakota was yet again extremely helpful and detailed orientated got me through it. Long story short, after several corresponding e-mails, I got the unit sent back to Noco. Knew when it arrived, when it was tested and when the new one would be shipped out back to me.
It was a pleasure to deal with someone so professional and extremely detailed as Ms. Dakota, she is a prime example of what customer service should be. On a scale of 1-10, 10+.......
I was extremely lucky to get someone on my case who truly cares and takes their job seriously enough to go the extra mile or 2.. .

FANTASTIC JOB!!!
NOCO, MS. DAKOTA DESERVES A RAISE OR BONUS. SHE IS TRULY THAT GOOD, OUTSTANDING PERFORMANCE.....

FRED FRAZIER...

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Report Abuse

Leo Pedroza

1/17/2019

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful.

Great Tool

Very happy with this GB40 works great with any vehicle

Yes, I recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Report Abuse

Jonathan De Andrade

8/13/2020

Good

Exelente producto lo recomiendo 100%

Yes, I recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Report Abuse

Soriso

2/15/2021

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful.

I Bought Two!

I own two GB40 units. They are sturdy and reliable and are kept in my vehicles as a backup power source. I relied on one to limp home on a family road trip after a car battery failed unexpectedly early, and I needed to get to the dealership for a replacement. It provides plenty of power, easy to use, and dependable.

Yes, I recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Report Abuse

Jorge

9/14/2021

Awesome

Excellent product. 10000% efective.

Yes, I recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Report Abuse

Tim B.

12/2/2015

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful.

Goodbye jumper cables

I've had to use it and it works great. It's so easy to use that even I was able to start the car. As with anything involving electricity, read the amazingly simple directions and follow them. I'm going to buy another one for our other car.

Yes, I recommend this product.

Verified purchase

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Report Abuse

BrooklynNineNine

9/3/2016

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful.

Compact, convenient and hold a charge forever.

Awesome. This thing is super compact and will hold a charge forever. Unfortunately had to use it the other day on my 3.7 liter V6. Started the car up from a 3V charge no problem. Love it!

Yes, I recommend this product.

Verified purchase

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Report Abuse

MG

2/5/2017

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful.

Noco GB40

This product was fantastic. I would recommend it to anyone. I've purchased a few products on-line and in retail stores and this one by far lived up to the hype.

Yes, I recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Report Abuse

Rob

7/8/2018

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful.

You Don’t Need It, Until ?

My wife’s always telling me you don’t need another gadget,but not this time. My daughters car was in the garage on a freezing day, and of course the battery died,and she-had to be somewhere. I didn’t think myG40 would be charged since I charged it like 8 montns before. I couldn’t believe it still had a lot of juice left,and started her car right up.She is going to college in the fall,so I will be buying another one for her. I looked at several portable jump starters,and found cheaper ones,but this one had the best reviews.Remember you get what you pay for.

Yes, I recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Report Abuse

Wolfehausen

1/19/2019

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful.

Powerful Little Battery Booster.

I purchased this to keep in the glove box of my BMW. I was attracted to the convenient size but a little skeptical about it being "big" enough to do the job. Well, I charged it upon arrival, and the very next day, took it to work to test on a Chevy Impala 5.7L V8 with a completely flat battery. A week prior, a large, lead-acid jump box barely turned the motor a few revs before giving up. This time, I hooked up the GB40, and it didn't even have the 2v to determine polarity. I pushed the bypass button, and turned the ignition. The Impala started as if it had a "fully charged battery". This little jumper is amazing. I work for a police department and we will be retiring the old lead-acid jump box, and purchasing the GB150. We jump cars all the time, and the GB150 will even start our large SWAT armored transport, which is a large diesel motor. I don't know why anyone would carry jumper cables anymore!

Yes, I recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Report Abuse

Chris T.

9/24/2021

Works Great!

I've had my GB40 for nearly a year. Recently I started a 70hp farm tractor with it. Hooked up the Jump Starter then waited 30 seconds and it fired right up.

Yes, I recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Report Abuse

Mike M.

1/28/2016

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful.

Peace Of Mind In A Small Package

I purchased the GB40 for my wife's vehicle (I have the GB70 in mine). She loves the versatility and ease of use. She charges her cell phone, tablet, etc. when in a bind. It fits nicely into the glove box of her car, and is always ready to go. Already used it to jump start a neighbour's car - it worked great. Excellent product!

Yes, I recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Report Abuse

Stuit2it

3/3/2017

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful.

I Hate Writing Reviews.

Guys, I hate writing reviews, so, I tend to only write one when a product fall flat on its face.

Not the case here. I own four jump starters, all of which are horrible. None of them ever went close to their claims and were built with no regard to quality.

I bought the gb40 to keep in the trunk of my diesel benz, I've jump started two Hondas, a Subaru, 5.7 liter chev, and a diesel benz.... (pause for drama)... on ONE (yes, ONE!) Charge!

I can not recommend this little jump box enough! I go around looking for people to jump and show them this thing, even hardened car guys are absolutely amazed.

Great product, great presentation, and the build quality is second to none...

I ordered the gb150 last night after the last jump start, not doubting my little starter, I plan on using around the farm.

Thanks Noco for building a product that does what the box says it will do, thanks for building a product that looks good, thanks for building a quality product.

Folks, I know this jumper is a little more costly than your average jumper, but believe me... completely worth every thin penny.

You get what you pay for folks!

Stuart Smith-
Owner of Cadillac Smith Cartage.

Yes, I recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Report Abuse

Williamsinparis

7/21/2018

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful.

Efficient And Quality Item

I left on the lights of my Porsche 911 and the battery (trickle) charger was in the trunk, so no access (it is electric)! Very smart. I found this new idea by luck (1,000A version), and did not really believe it would work. Checked out some Youtube videos and commentaries.
Anyway, was delivered next day, was able to connect to fuse box and open trunk, then tried the engine (3.7 litre 6 cylinder). First time it turned VERY SLOWLY and did not start. Per instructions I waited 30 seconds and then tried again. It turned faster and STARTED. The battery was absolutely dead (I had to use the manual override switch per the instructions as the battery was not showing any voltage at all).
It's a quality item, nice little carry bag, now sits under my seat where I will be able to help myself or anybody else!
Very very happy with this thing. Just one note....it took two times to get mine going, if I had the choice again I would get the 2,000A version, although it's twice the price.

Yes, I recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Report Abuse

Mahdi

3/12/2020

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful.

high qualty and srong

Yes, I recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Report Abuse

Mike Chaytor

11/21/2020

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful.

This is a compact battery booster that is easy to work with. Built-in safety protection makes it almost idiot-proof. NOCO was extremely accomodating replacing the unit when the original one would no longer accept a charge. It has the limitations of a Lithium battery so be sure to follow the recommendations for maintenance.

Yes, I recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Report Abuse

Mike

2/29/2016

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful.

ATV

Got it for the ATV. They don't make pull starts anymore and who wants to get stuck in the back woods with a dead battery. Cheap insurance and fit easily in the storage box.

Yes, I recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Report Abuse

Sylvain

11/1/2016

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful.

Totally Awesome

I bought it this morning to jumpstart my girlfriend's car, it was insane, in a couple of seconds the job's done.

Yes, I recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Report Abuse

craig

4/18/2017

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful.

Superb!

Will cold start my 2.5L old landrover diesel with no battery connected. A full charge gives almost 60 seconds of full cranking which is insane. Charges up really fast through USB on a decent charger, torch is very good for walking dogs, or emergencies as a short but wide and dven spread of light. Noco do need to include a mains charger or at least the option of one. Would also like to see a 12V cigaretter output for the 12V high amp output as well.

Yes, I recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Report Abuse

Techdad

10/6/2018

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful.

Awesome Product

Last winter our Trailblazer, F-150, and Montana failed to start due to -40 temperature. My Moto-Master jumpstarter failed to do its job. I called my brother-in-law to help me. He brought his GB40. I was very impressed that this small device was able to start my vehicles. . In preparation for this coming winter I bought myself one yesterday at Canadian Tire while it is still on sale. I recommend this product. You should have one.

Yes, I recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Report Abuse

Prahallad Mohanty

3/8/2019

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful.

Excellent Product

I had purchased this from Walmart a month ago and charged that time. I used it yesterday for the first time. The charge was still 100%. The car started on the very first attempt. I didn't have to use the booster.

I also have a PSX2 jump starter from Costco which never works in situations like this i.e. when the battery is low or almost dead and the temperature outside is below freezing.

I am extremely happy that i have purchased this item.

Yes, I recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Report Abuse

Jon Y.

3/15/2020

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful.

Over Two Years Without A Charge

A few days ago my wife was babysitting grandkids. While there she decided to pull her 2015 Honda Civic "Nose In" into the garage to do some cleaning up. Her granddaughter in the mean time had turned on a light or two inside the Honda which she was not aware of. When it came time to leave she tried to start her Honda and you guessed it, all clicks, then nothing. She called me at home over 40 minutes away and stated it would be hard to jump start because she had pulled into the garage and she can't even put her Honda in gear to roll it out. I remembered I had my Norco Genius Boost + GB40 sitting in a box in my office aka gameroom aka mancave. I grabbed the Norco checked the charge and I was less then 50%. Now the last time this was charged was maybe over two years before I left the West Coast for the East Coast. While driving over I plugged into my vehicle to see if I can bump up the charge. When I arrived I had a squeak into 50% charge capacity. I setup properly to start the Jump, had all lights showing my charge rate and had her try to start her Honda. The first turn of the key and her Honda came to life. To see her smile was "priceless". For me I had a deep sense of pride knowing I did not let my wife down and I had a great product. Yes after sitting for over two years my GB40 came through with the "clutch" start when I needed it to. Thank You

Yes, I recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Report Abuse

BENJAMIN V

12/22/2020

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful.

LE MEILLEUR

ne vous trompez pas il n'en existe que un seul dans ce domaine NOCO!
petit / fiable / pratique =indispensable, limite obligatoire

Yes, I recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Report Abuse

Customer

4/23/2016

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful.

Better than the old large jumpers

Lots of power, and compact.

Yes, I recommend this product.

Verified purchase

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Report Abuse

Ammo

12/24/2016

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful.

Motorcycle Shop Must Have!

I own a custom motorcycle shop and bought one after my large traditional jump pack died. This compact, light unit is amazing! Fires up even the largest of motorcycle engines no problem... would recommend to anyone fits in saddlebags for peace of mind while traveling as well!!! Awesome product!!

Yes, I recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Report Abuse

Terrell

12/9/2018

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful.

Great So Far

I bought the GB40 because I was tired of always having to pull the jumper cables out and then finding another vehicle to help boost off. I've already used it several different times and not one problem.It's a lot smaller than I thought and its not heavy. The only thing as of now I would fix is the cables are short. Im planning to buy 4 or more for my other vehicles just to have one in each just in case.

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Report Abuse

GB40

5/25/2019

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful.

Started NO PROBLEM!!!!

I bought this a week ago. I read the reviews it looks great. After work my coworkers battery died, so I use the jump starter and the car started no problem. Love it. My coworker said he will get one. I suggest to get it!!

Yes, I recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Report Abuse

CRA

5/28/2020

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful.

5/28/2020

Bought this about a year ago after my truck died over night at work and had to call & wait for a boost in the cold. I've recently used it a LOT driving my wife's SUV she left sitting up for the past 2 months, trying to see if she needed a new battery or just needed to be driven...I guess a battery since I keep having to boost it. Also even after using it for 12-18 boost, at least 1 boost on a completely dead battery, it only went down to 75% not sure if it was fully charged before then since it's been sitting in my truck for a good year.

Yes, I recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Report Abuse

Vlady S.

12/23/2020

Must Have!

Bought gb40 and genius5. Both work great. Really must have tool.

Yes, I recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Report Abuse

Ben Baker

4/4/2021

Hi Tech

I used to have the big heavy battery sized jumper and when it wouldn't start a totally flat battery this guy at 10% the size and weight fired it right up. I'm going to buy another.

Yes, I recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Report Abuse

kkuhaida

4/23/2016

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful.

Amazing how this little thing can jump start a car.

Amazing how this little thing can jump start a car better than a big jump box or cables...plus charge devices and has different connections for multiple applications.

Yes, I recommend this product.

Verified purchase

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Report Abuse

Alan

12/31/2016

8 of 10 people found the following review helpful.

Great Product

does lleverything it says it wii

it does everything it says it will do. best on the market your not supposed to leave it hooked up to the battery after car is started. it tells you that . because you can get back feed. start your car then unhook it right away then let car warm up.




Was this review helpful? Yes No

Report Abuse

Jenna

1/22/2018

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful.

Great Product!

Simply put, I bought this lithium jump starter about a year and a half ago; charged it up and put it in the back seat of my Lexus RX "just in case." Then, sure enough one day the RX wouldn't quite start, I followed the simple directions, connected it to the car battery, got back inside and voila! the car started! Used it two more times on a friend's car, never a problem. Now, however I have somehow lost the USB charging cable and the ones I have for my phone and Kindle simply don't fit the GB40, so I have ordered a replacement cable. No reflection on the GB; it was my fault to lose the cable. A happy customer!

Yes, I recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Report Abuse

Habbro

12/28/2018

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful.

Great Product

I recently used this product on my Mustang. It is a 2013 model (5.7l motor) that sat for nearly 7 months after hurricane Irma. I was stuck in a parking garage and could not get another vehicle close enough to jumpstart it. I plugged this into a completely dead battery for approximately 30 seconds. I used the manual override and it cranked immediately on one turn of the key

Yes, I recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Report Abuse

Steve

5/25/2019

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful.

Started NO PROBLEM!!!

I bought this a week ago. I read the reviews it looks great. After work my coworkers battery died, so I use the jump starter and the car started no problem. Love it. My coworker said he will get one. I suggest to get it!! Just check out the reviews!!

Yes, I recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Report Abuse

CRA.

5/28/2020

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful.

5/28/2020

Also I wanted to mentioned, after looking at some of the negative reviews, when the battery was completely dead I had to use the override button/feature or it wouldn't let me boost it off.

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Report Abuse

Genghis

1/6/2021

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.

Bravo Noco

Just jump started Mercedes CLA 200 been sitting in the garage for more than six months with GB40.. kicked in soonest turned on the ignition..
Thanks from Istanbul

Yes, I recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Report Abuse

1960 Mr Mike

5/10/2021

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful.

Listen To Me

GB40 works great for everything they claim ! It won't..... REPEAT It won't start your Hunk Of Junk car if your battery is already toast ! READ THIS ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ It will~~~~ CHARGE your usb devices in a power outage ! ~~~~ ~~~ It will ~~~~START your car if you left something on and the battery went dead~~~~
If you are looking for a miracle....Call Joe Biden

Yes, I recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Report Abuse

Randy

4/23/2016

29 of 30 people found the following review helpful.

Very small and much safer than other jump packs you see.

I purchased this a little too late. The other week my wife’s suv battery was dead and we had to jump the suv using the old fashioned vehicle to vehicle method which is a pain. Our suv has gone through batteries like candy and is constantly having battery issue. This bothers me as I am afraid one of these times the battery will die in a place there is no one to help my wife jump the suv to get it running and get it back to the shop or to allow her to get home safe. Plus we have a child which makes this worse.

This is a wonderful solution. I looked high and low for a solution and just found this one. Yes, they have jump packs that are huge and will do the trick, but my dad home one and it would drain on its own and be dead within the month which means it needed a constant charging to keep it reliable.

I really like this one and choose this one for the following reasons.
1.) It is light weight, small and lithium.
2.) It has a built in 100 lumen flashlight which makes night jumps a whole lot easier to do. Especially as my hood does not have a light built in.
3.) The cables are very flexible and are a heavy duty 8 gauge.
4.) This can be used as a power bank as well but that does not interest me. (So say you are broken down and have a dead battery, use the usb port to get that phone working to call for help.)
5.) Came with a DC 2.1amp charger adapter. Note – You can use the dc adapter to charge this or simply use the included micro usb cable to charge this using a usb wall power adapter or usb hub. Use a power source of at least 2amps.
6.) Came with a cloth bag you can put everything in to keep it together. (Perfect size for your glove or trunk.)
7.) Is rated up to 1000amps which is rated up to 20 jumps on a single charge. I personally plan to charge this after every time I need to jump as it is not frequent to be safe.
8.) The charge unlike the larger portable units takes far longer to drain since it is lithium. It can kee a charge up to a year. Again, I would not push the maximum time frame and I plan to charge this every 3 months as precaution. Super easy to do and it will avoid murphys law from popping up.
9.) It is 7,035 joules which is how much power it pumps out in 3 seconds. This one is rated for engines up to 6l – gasoline or 3l for diesel. Again, I always rather go bigger. So if you are on the upper size engine, I would recommend the 2000 amp model to give you more then enough oomph.
Best feature of this is the safety it offers. Jumping between two vehicles can be very dangerous and is not something I prefer my wife doing. These are not only spark proof but have reverse polarity just in case….

Summary – While I hope we actually never need to use it I feel this is the best type and model of a battery booster available for me at this time and would recommend to friends and family.

Yes, I recommend this product.

Verified purchase

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Report Abuse

Steve

1/1/2017

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful.

Outstanding Product

This battery booster is amazing it also has 7 different flashlight settings you can even charge your phone tablet what ever you have that connection is USB what an amazing product fits in your glove box

Yes, I recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Report Abuse

C.A.

2/8/2018

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful.

A Great Product

I purchased the Noco GB40 today here in Sydney Australia. It looks great, it’s well made , it feels very solid , I have now got it on charge to get it up to 100% charge. I may not have to use it for years. I can only hope that it also lasts for years otherwise what’s the point. I haven’t been able to find out how long it’s supposed to last, but it only has a guarantee of 1 year. I gave it 5 stars on the way it looks and feels, I just hope that I am not dissapointed , and it lasts for 5 to 10 years, otherwise if it only lasts a couple of years and in that time I may not have used it at all, then what would be the point of buying it in the first place. I CAN ONLY HOPE FOR THE BEST, SO I AM GIVING IT 5 STARS IN ADVANCE.....

Yes, I recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Report Abuse

Ed

12/31/2018

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful.

3 Strikes You're Out

I never thought I would have to use it. I bought a used 2003 Cadillac Escalade EXT (the cowboy pick up model). After one year, the battery refused to start the engine. I had bought a GM40 boost unit about 4 months earlier. I pulled it out and hooked it up. Wow, car started right up. In the past month I have had to use it THREE times - one was the evening after a great Christmas eve get together. Today, I bought a new battery. Three starts on the same charge and never gave me a second look. I had total confidence. What a great product to keep in the glove box. It saved me a tow truck service call so it paid for itself in just one use.

Yes, I recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Report Abuse

Charles

7/10/2020

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful.

Very Fine Product. Follow The Simple Directions And You Are Going To Have A Very Rugged And Long Lasting Unit!

I got this way back in June 2018. It is still going strong. The internal battery behaves as one of very high quality. I keep it in my car at all times and periodically test and check it's charge. Charge when/if needed. Follow the directions to the detail regarding charging and how to use it safely. I am very happy with this. Nearly astonishing that it will start a vehicle with a dead battery in cold weather. The warranty is only 1 year but mine has lasted well over that period. If This ever fails I'll simple buy another new one. Nicely built product NOCO!

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Report Abuse

John

2/7/2021

Flawless

I’m always a bit skeptical of products I’ve never had to use, especially “emergency”-related items. I live where it’s normal to reach -40 Celsius in the winter. Moved in the summer to a new place which doesn’t have a viable option for plugging in my block heater.

-31 today, with a windchill in the -40s. As I knew this weather was approaching, and will stick around for a week or two, I needed an option, even a Hail Mary, for ensuring my car would start so I can get to work. Found the GB40 online, with lots of good reviews. Picked it up, charged it last night.

As expected, car wouldn’t turn over today. Not sure what I expected, but connected the GB40 to the battery (which took 5 seconds), and my car fired right up without struggle. The battery indicator on the GB40 still appears fully charged - as it should, they say this thing will do 20 jump starts on a single charge... which I fully believe after using it!

Well worth the price tag (which is totally reasonable in my opinion). Awesome piece of kit to have in your car for emergencies, with the capability not only to recharge in your car, but with a USB port to recharge your cell phone. I’m sure the flashlight will come in handy for some as well.

Can’t remember the last time I was this satisfied with a product!

Yes, I recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Report Abuse

BG

3/6/2021

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.

Great At Starting Cara But Oddly Not Great At Charging Cell Phones

Don't get me wrong, I love my gb40. However I'm a little bit disappointed that I can only charge my Android fone one time before depleting the battery. I have not had any problem whatsoever with starting cars.

Yes, I recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Report Abuse

Eduardo Cabañas

9/3/2016

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.

Works!

It works great !

Yes, I recommend this product.

Verified purchase

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Report Abuse

7S POWER

2/7/2019

A Powerful Portable Jump Starter Battery

This is a great powerful jump starter. It's very handy to have and easy to use.
I helped a stranded motorist waiting for the CAA to boost his car dead battery in cold damped weather. The GB40 boosted the dead battery and started the engine immediately. I would have given the GB40 a 5star rating. However, there's a design flaw with the booster cable connector. When this connector is connected to the 12V OUT of the jump starter Lithium battery, it's very easy for the cable to become dislodge since there's no locking mechanism to secure its connection. NOCO, please include a connector locking mechanism in the new design and provide a free retrofit kit for present owners.

Yes, I recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Report Abuse

Stan

4/1/2021

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.

GB40

My roommate’s had one of these for a couple years and it’s proven to be reliable, so I recently ordered one to keep in my own car. I’ve used my roommate’s charger about a dozen times, to jumpstart an old Honda Civic and also a Subaru Forrester and it’s worked every time - however, I doubt this charger can produce 20 jump starts as claimed, the most I’ve gotten from a full-capacity charge was four or five, but that was with a completely drained battery that would not hold any charge once the vehicle was turned off. If unused for a few weeks it will start to lose stored energy, we keep it charged up every month or so and it’s worked as intended.

I received my own yesterday and charged it fully overnight, and tested it by boosting my iPhone from 50% to 99%, which used about half of the GB40’s stored energy.

Build quality is decent, it’s a well-made product, as is the storage case I also purchased. I definitely think it’s worth the price. While it seems NoCo is embellishing the capabilities of this jump starter, possibly based on laboratory conditions, it’s good to have for various situations that may arise. The flashlights are a nice feature.

Yes, I recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Report Abuse

David

1/7/2018

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful.

Great Unit, Mind Your Temperature Though

I bought this a couple months properly for personal use, but also for the occasional "help a neighbor" situation. I live in Vermont and it gets extremely cold here, well below zero F in the middle of winter. This unit is very well designed, rugged, and easy to cart around where I need to.

I did find, however, that in the coldest days (+5* or lower) that it was not powerful enough to start cars with a nearly dead battery. Weak was ok, but not under 6v. (this is not due to failure to try manual mode). It certainly would not start a diesel (even a vw) except in warm weather.

I will be buying a gb150 to use for my primary pack and I intend to keep the 40 for my small equipment and as a backup. I still give this 5 stars for its great design and superior customer service.

Some impressions on the unit and responses to other reviews:

-this doesn't work well in very cold climates. Get a gb70 or 150 and you'll be very happy. Keep in mind with cost comparison that your cheap Costco pack won't last over a year with old SLA battery technology.

-the USB charging ports are indeed very delicate and fussy. This is due to the nature of usb ports and not noco's design. They would do well to to move away from a USB charging port to top off the pack. Until they do, just be gentile and you'll be happy for years.

-read the instructions regarding manual mode. If the jumper can't "see" the battery because it's totally dead, manual mode will get it to juice the vehicle.

-similarly, I have found that the pack seems to provide a slow charge after connecting and only once there is a demand in the system (starter, for instance), does it unleash the full potential. If you have a starter interlock device (think soberdrive or intoxalock) you may want to use an old SLA-based pack for now. Manual mode, in theory, will give you the power to do through the steps to start the car. It has not far had the oomph to keep the system voltage high enough through to stating on any of my customers cars with this equipment.

Yes, I recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Report Abuse

TomK

5/19/2021

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.

Works Well But

But after 3 years (exactly) of intermittent use it has died, so it has a limited lifespan. I have another phone charger battery half this size that is 6 years old and still gives 4 charges of my iPhone. As a back up car charger it works well but expect to replace it every few years.

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Report Abuse

Silvano

1/25/2017

2 of 4 people found the following review helpful.

Almost 5 Stars Except For

I love the features on my GB40 it is very compact and jumped started my 2003 Lexus ES 300 in one turn of the ignition key, my only complaint so far is that after having used it to jumpstart my vehicle once and on a full charge the device lost alot of power, it went from 100% to 75% and I don't see how it will jump start my battery the 20 times it claims .

Yes, I recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Report Abuse

Stan

4/1/2021

GB40

My roommate’s had one of these for a couple years and it’s proven to be reliable, so I recently ordered one to keep in my own car. I’ve used my roommate’s charger about a dozen times, to jumpstart an old Honda Civic and also a Subaru Forrester and it’s worked every time - however, I doubt this charger can produce 20 jump starts as claimed, the most I’ve gotten from a full-capacity charge was four or five, but that was with a completely drained battery that would not hold any charge once the vehicle was turned off. If unused for a few weeks it will start to lose stored energy, we keep it charged up every month or so and it’s worked as intended.

I received my own yesterday and charged it fully overnight, and tested it by boosting my iPhone from 50% to 99%, which used about half of the GB40’s stored energy.

Build quality is decent, it’s a well-made product, as is the storage case I also purchased. I definitely think it’s worth the price. While it seems NoCo is embellishing the capabilities of this jump starter, possibly based on laboratory conditions, it’s good to have for various situations that may arise. The flashlights are a nice feature.

Yes, I recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Report Abuse

Mark A. Lopez Sr.

10/7/2021

GB40 Not Working After Second Boost

I used the GB40 to boost my Motorcycle Battery, the first boost went great no issues. The problem was it drained the GB40 Boost to half. The same day I used it again, 30 minutes later, it started my battery once again, but this time the error led illuminated and never went away. I cannot charge GB40, turn it on, or do anything with it. Not happy with this product.

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Report Abuse

Andrew B

10/17/2019

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful.

Works Great.... At First

For the first year I owned the device it worked fantastically. Gave me piece of mind to have during natural disaster / emergency times. Now I don’t trust it to do anything more than charge a cell phone. I can charge it to 100%, and take it directly to a vehicle to jump it and get nothing. The lights flash and sequence across the front indicating that is hooked up, but it will not jump even a Toyota car off.

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Report Abuse

Pete T

3/5/2020

6 of 9 people found the following review helpful.

Dont Waste Your Money

I bought this item new and it wont even start my lawn mowers and it's supposed to be able to start a diesel and they claim up to 20 jumps per charge. I cant even get 1 on a 2 cylinder lawn mower.

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Report Abuse

Pete

3/5/2020

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful.

Dont Waste Your Money

I own a landscape business and figured it's good to keep in trucks incase. Full charge and it wont start a 2 cylinder lawnmower and they claim it starts a diesel, and they claim 20 jumps per charge I cant even get 1

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Report Abuse

Jeff

10/11/2020

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful.

Stuck With It

I bought this a year ago for my 4 cylinder Jeep Patriot. Never needed in winter but now I'm the fall I needed it and wouldn't work. Followed the instructions to the letter and nothing. Expensive usb charger/flashlight.

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Report Abuse

Pascal Brassard

10/19/2021

Not Good Quality

I bought one 4 year ago and work for 1year after the product don’t want charge anymore.I bought and order one 2 year work fine but now same problem

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Report Abuse