GENIUS10 Reviews

4.41 /5

27 Reviews

74 % Of Reviewers Recommend This Product

Back to Product

FLC At MY

2/5/2021

29 of 33 people found the following review helpful.

Best In Class 10A Automotive Battery Charger

The GENIUS10 cannot be faulted in any way. Bought one purely out of indulgence after my existing CTEK MXS10 crapped out on me and was sent in for a warranty claim. Turns out, the GENIUS10 is BETTER in every aspect and priced cheaper too. More rugged casing, more features, profiles and versatility. the NOCO also comes with better quality wires and heavy duty clamps. Even tried the Genius10's "repair" profile vs. the CTEK's "recond" mode. The CTEK didn't do much for an aged flooded-lead-acid 12V batt, but the GENIUS10 actually managed to improve CCA and lowered the internal resistance by approx. 15% (as read by a handheld battery analyzer). The only point where the CTEK wins is that it came with a fancy nylon storage pouch, but I'm pushing my luck here.

Yes, I recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Report Abuse

Awesome Results

1/12/2022

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful.

I love this battery charger. I work in a fleet shop and we get a lot of dead batteries because of lack of use and cold weather. This charger between it's repair cycle and maintaining cycle has brought a number of batteries back from the dead. Batteries that were once testing bad on our battery tester now test good and indicate healthy battery life. Would recommend this product to anyone looking for a battery maintenance solution!

Yes, I recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Report Abuse

Mario

1/30/2020

8 of 22 people found the following review helpful.

GENIUS10

I am very satisfied with the product

Yes, I recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Report Abuse

Mr. Happy

3/15/2021

37 of 39 people found the following review helpful.

Very Impressed!

I am writing this review to express my great pleasure with this battery charger. I have an older battery from my son's truck that went dead for the duration ( or so I thought ). This battery just sits in the truck with a parasitic draw from the truck's electrical system somewhere. It has gone flat several times in the last two years since the truck just sits in the driveway since my sons passing, except to move it to snow blow or to mow grass from around it depending on the season of year that is. I looked online for ways to try to bring back a battery and decided to use the "old non computerized charger technique" I just so happened to have an old charger like that and they say to let it charge for a few weeks/month and sometimes it will bring them back by "cooking off" some of the sulfation so to speak. It did not work. In fact, one of the cells froze while on the old charger. I thought it was really too late for that battery now. I figured it was time for a new charger anyway, and wanted a maintainer too so since a battery from my tilting trailer is too big for the battery tender jr. that I had on it ( found that out after a few weeks after buying and using it on the trailer battery) So I got the NOCO Genius 10. I couldn't help myself but to try it out on the old battery from the truck due to it's repair function to de-sulfate a battery. NOCO recommends charging the battery to full before using the repair function, so I charged it for a day ( 24-36 hrs. I think ). I then switched it to repair mode. I went back and forth from repair mode to charge mode 3 times. The battery was coming back even without the first repair mode session. Since the repair mode goes to standby mode after it is done with the repair cycle, I would put in in regular charge mode since it would set in an ice cold detached garage all night after the repair function had finished. The reason I did the back and forth thing three times is because I figured maybe it would de-sulfate the plates in the battery more and maybe I would have more of it's original capacity back. The voltage was already reading good with the multimeter. Using the old charger, I could not get it to take any charge and the battery was 9 point something volts before it froze one cell. Maybe I should have waited until load testing it before writing this but I do not have a load tester and I am so happy with this charger. The battery ( as of a day and a half ago ) read 12.84 volts. Maybe a little high but that may be me from using the repair more than once. Hopefully I can amend this review after load testing the battery to let folks know about that, but so far, so good. This charger will not bring back every battery they say, but it is doing great so far on this one. Thank you for reading this long winded review. I do not think you will be sorry if you buy one of these.
THE ONLY NEGATIVE SO FAR: The Mode button is really stiff and I'm afraid it may wear out quickly. Just my opinion though. Time will test the durability.

Yes, I recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Report Abuse

Bryan

1/12/2022

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful.

Super Impressed!

I love this maintainer! It's worked wonders here in our shop. I service fleet vehicles and we suffer a lot of battery loss in the winter and lack of people driving our vehicles. This charger has brought a number of batteries back from the dead with it's repair and maintenance cycles. I would highly recommend this product to anyone looking for a battery maintenance solution. Great build quality, good looking, professional packaging, great resources on their website to learn about the different cycles and how to use them effectively, and perhaps most importantly, a really fair price for what you are getting. It's the real deal.

Yes, I recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Report Abuse

Mario

1/30/2020

7 of 18 people found the following review helpful.

GENIUS10

I am very satisfied with the product

Yes, I recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Report Abuse

Jim

3/27/2021

4 of 6 people found the following review helpful.

First Time User Of This Charger

I used this Charger/Maintainer today for the first time & it works as advertised.
I got a heads-up with the user instructions on-line & when I powered up the charger today it was "very easy" to follow the charging progress.
I recommend this product to anyone interested in a battery Maintainer.

Yes, I recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Report Abuse

Roger Hayford

8/14/2023

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful.

Clues In The Name

This little beauty is gods gift to batteries. Simple and convenient to use on most batteries about today, connect and leave to do its magic. Very pleased with my choice and nice to see a company that has been around for so long and still making great products.

Yes, I recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Report Abuse

Airway

5/7/2020

57 of 59 people found the following review helpful.

Simple To Use

This is a “set and forget” battery charger. Connect to your battery, set the proper voltage and mode (Conventional Lead Acid, AGM, Lithium) and it will do the rest. I love the fact this charger can be left on indefinitely without me worrying about damaging an expensive. battery. Most Smart Chargers will not begin charging a car battery if it’s under 11 volts, the Genius will. Kudos to Noco for addressing that problem. I only wish the instruction manual or website would provide information about the “stages“ of charging that occur during a regular 12 V charge. Answers to questions like “does desulfation occur” during routine battery charging (or only during repair mode) are not addressed.

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Report Abuse

Anton J Miller

7/12/2021

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful.

Amazing Charger!

These chargers are great! very flexible in use, long cords and easy use. even has a built in 10 amp power supply! I made a video here on youtube, check it out! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LtYT3lqfdzI

Yes, I recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Report Abuse

Joseph

3/12/2022

18 of 22 people found the following review helpful.

I Really Like The Genius10

We have a 2005 Cadillac STS we keep in the garage and rarely drive. We told ourselves we would drive it every couple of weeks to stop the battery from going dead, but that never happened. A year ago, we bought a new battery. Now the new battery has died. I called AAA to start this newer dead battery which had been sitting undriven for a couple of months and AAA got the battery working and I was able to start the car. The guy they sent recommended I purchase and use a “trickle charger”, so the battery won’t drain just sitting in the garage.

It is now about 3 months later, and the battery is dead again. I thought I am going to have to call AAA again, but before I did that, I decided to look up trickle chargers that had been recommended, and one of the chargers that came up in my search was the Genius Chargers. I started reading about them and thought maybe I can get my dead battery to come back to life without calling AAA.

I purchased this Genius2 to charge my car battery still attached to the 2005 Cadillac STS. I am not that mechanical, so my first obstacle was trying to figure out how to get to the battery. I never was able to figure how to take off the battery cover or shield? Tried YouTube, tried Google, ugh!! I needed to be able to figure out what type of 12V battery it was. I was finally able to pull the battery cover back enough to read that this was not an AGM and was a wet 12V battery. Now I could figure out some other specifics about the battery, so I knew the 12V battery setting to charge it.

I read up on this charger both from the company and from the reviews before I received it. I was ready when the charger came in. I figured the battery is dead, so it would take a while.

I hooked up the Genius 2, making sure to plug in the battery first, before plugging the charger into the electric based on some reviews I read. Pressing the mode button didn’t work, but I was able to get “force mode” going for 5 minutes. After 5 minutes I was now able to normally charge the battery, or at least I thought.

20 hours later and I checked the Genius2, and I still had only one red light slowly pulsing red. I write to NOCO Genius2 support chat and they respond by email within a few hours, “If the battery was severely depleted or sat undercharged for a period of time the charger will spend more time on the first few charge steps as it attempts to recover and desulfate the battery and restore any damage that may have happened”. He went on after describing his experience. “…So, the charge time will vary depending on the condition of the battery. I would allow the charger to complete the first few steps to restore the battery. The charger does not have set times for each step, rather it will progress through the steps according to how the battery accepts the charge.”

After letting it sit overnight (now the second night), I still only see the one red pulsing light indicating I don’t have 25% of the battery charged, so I figured I will just wait.

It has now been a total of over 36 hours and still only one red pulsing light on only the first light (still less than 25% charged). I will be so happy when the I see the second light, so I know it is beginning to work!

I don’t know at 39 hours, I decided to try to jump the car with a GOOLOO TITAN Series GP2000 Jump Starter my wife had purchased 3 months ago. I took off the NOCO Genius2 and hooked up the Jump Starter. It worked and the car started with the Jump Starter on my car. I took the Jump Starter off the car and left the car running for 30 minutes.

I turned off the car and tried to start it again without a Jump Starter. It didn’t start. I placed the NOCO Genius2 back on the car. it was still less that 25% charged with just the first light pulsing. Now I will wait again and see what happens, at least I know the car will start with a jump, and without me calling AAA. We don’t really use the car, so I will try to be patient while the Genius2 slowly does its work.

A few hours later, I got tired of waiting and thought maybe the car itself, still attached to the battery was drawing from the battery was drawing too much energy and the battery wasn’t charging for that reason. I reasoned 10 Amps was more than 2 Amps so I bought the NOCO Genius 10 to see how that would work. It arrived within 12 hours and my NOCO Genius 2 was still only showed the one red flashing LED light.

After about 50 hours of charging, the NOCO Genius 10 arrived. I replaced the NOCO Genius 2 with the NOCO Genius 10 and the battery’s state of charge was so still so low, the Genius 10 would not allow me to set the battery to the 12V setting. I had to force charge the battery. Obviously, the Genius 2 did not provide enough energy after 50 hours for the battery to even be strong enough to be recognized by the new NOCO Genius 10.

The lights on the Genius 10 after a few hours stayed with just the first light blinking and now the second light would start to go on and it would go back to the first light blinking again. Every minute or so the second light would start to go on and then stop. I let it charge overnight.

Again, I am not that great mechanically, but I am tenacious. I reasoned it was time to charge only the battery, without the battery attached to the 2005 Cadillac STS. I had just read that some cars can draw a charge from the battery even though the cars are off.

Nothing is ever that easy. With a regular 12V car battery you would just remove the connection to the car from the battery post, but this battery was a side charge, and I was charging the battery, connecting the charger to a bolt that was also attached to wires from the car that went into the side of the battery. When I removed the car wires there was now no posts only a positive and negative socket the car wiring attached to from the car’s built-in bolt.

To recap, I had been charging the battery connecting it to the bolt that went into the car from the car wiring attached to its own positive and negative bolts. While jump starting the car worked, I knew that something was stopping the battery from receiving and keeping enough of the charge from my Genius chargers to recharge the nearly dead battery. I reasoned that the battery was not receiving enough energy from my chargers to overcome the draw from the car and charge the battery at the same time. How could I remove the car wiring from the car and still charge it without a post?

I researched and found I just need to purchase two 3/8” bolts and put it into the battery sockets. The bolts needed to be long enough to have some of the bolt outside the battery so I could now attach the Clamps from the Genius 10 to my bolt in the battery and remove the rest of the car wires.

It worked. It has now been 5 days since I purchased the Genius2, and 2 days since I purchased the Genius10 and now within two or three hours of just charging the battery with the Genius10 I am now 100% charged. I now have 2 steady red LED lights, 1 steady orange LED light, and 1 pulsing green LED.

A few hours later, it is just 1 green LED light pulsing.

2 days later, I noticed the 1 green LED light is just a steady on. I noticed no pulsing, but a few days later, I noticed it pulsing again. I figure it is working fine.

My problem now is what is causing there to be a drain on my battery with the car off? How bad is it? To fix this and figure this out, I will have to purchase a multimeter, ugh!! I think for now I will just keep only the battery hooked up to the NOCO Genius 10 and only hook the battery up to the car only when I need to use it, because we are just storing the car, and this will help maintain the battery.

As a user with enough knowledge to be dangerous, I really like the NOCO Genius 10. It has so many built-in automatic safety features. Like if you accidentally hook up the positive and negative to the wrong part of the battery, it warns you and does not complete the connection! I believe the Genius 10 has enough amps to be worth the buy for a car battery. The NOCO Genius 2, may or may not be strong enough to work on your car battery if you hook it up directly only to your car battery, but I recommend the NOCO Genius 10 for your car battery. My review of the product is overall very good. I wish the Guidebook that comes with the product describing the LED lights matched the description of what 100% charged shows on the company website under “Charge Levels” on this web page: https://no.co/genius10.

Yes, I recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Report Abuse

Daryl

5/7/2020

25 of 28 people found the following review helpful.

Easy To Use

This is a set and forget charger with multiple safety features to prevent damage to a battery. Set volts & the mode (conventional lead acid, AGM, or lithium), and the charger will do the rest. I love the automatic feature allowing this charger to be left connected & pugged in indefinitely without fear of overcharging and damaging an expensive battery. Most smart chargers will not begin charging a car battery if it’s discharged below 11 volts, but this Genius model is capable of charging a fully dead battery. My only suggestion is for the manufacturer to provide additional information about the “stages” of charging that occur during a routine 12 V charge. Does Desulfation occur during a regular charge cycle, or does that only occur during “repair” mode?

Yes, I recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Report Abuse

Anton J Miller

7/12/2021

4 of 6 people found the following review helpful.

Amazing Charger!

Great charger, always does the job. Easy to use, long cables, auto detects, and 10 amp power supply! I made a video you can check out here that goes into some details! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LtYT3lqfdzI

Yes, I recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Report Abuse

Aircal

7/30/2020

10 of 12 people found the following review helpful.

Great! It Works!

This charger revived my wife's dead (zero volts) car battery. I removed the battery from her car as I was concerned about possible over heating that was reported on Amazon. Neither the charger nor the battery temperatures went above 85 degrees Fahrenheit. The LED lighting didn't flash as described for my initial "Force Mode" setting which was a bit confusing but the charging percentage LED's worked as described. NOCO, please make a case for it.

Yes, I recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Report Abuse

ALBERT

12/11/2021

Great Product

It’s easy to use and keeps my ride ready to go

Yes, I recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Report Abuse

Xeiran

8/25/2022

2 of 4 people found the following review helpful.

Done Right By Me

Bought a Genius10 to restore an AGM battery that had been deep drained not once but twice within 3 weeks after Covid started and I stopped driving. Before purchase, even after a full charge overnight at Autozone my battery was dead again within 3 weeks, was afraid I'd have to purchase a new battery. But the Genius 10 did an excellent job of restoring it to full charge and able to hold a charge again. I've been using it since then without any problems (2 years) to keep my second car's battery healthy and charged since I don't get to drive it much anymore, this is after going through 2 other "battery minders" that died within 2-3 months.

Yes, I recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Report Abuse

Steve

9/27/2020

8 of 11 people found the following review helpful.

Rv

Changed to lithium in coach then chaise battery need it’s own charger at camp ground and at home when parked.high quality, many nice features payed more for the the quality And dependability gad I did!

Yes, I recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Report Abuse

Been Reliable For Now Two Years

12/29/2021

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful.

Fabulous Charger

Used mainly on a 100ah group 27 Lead Acid deep cycle. It has maintained this battery in a very good state for the same time, two years. I've had success on a different battery using the repair feature.

Not sure why some others have had issues, but the warranty covers issues for three years. I recommend watching amazon for a warehouse discounted price, what I did for the genius 5 also purchased as a gift.

Great performing units.

Yes, I recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Report Abuse

Linton

4/21/2023

Love It.

I really like this charger, it's small and a very good charger, I had to buy this for a Noco Lithium battery that I purchased, I like that I can also charge other batteries as well, great job Noco keep up the good work.

Yes, I recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Report Abuse

Steven

2/2/2021

12 of 14 people found the following review helpful.

Awesome And Perfect

I use this on many cars and also for storage of my muscle car. It works perfect and has repaired 3 batteries already. One in which I'm on year 2 after the repair with. Great job. Also works perfect for my 18 zl1 in which when charging I've seen it as low as .5 volts. Great charger for the price

Yes, I recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Report Abuse

Super Good

12/31/2021

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful.

Amazing

I got this and charge my AGM super Dead to Back on track i love this product

Yes, I recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Report Abuse

Roger

7/15/2023

12 of 15 people found the following review helpful.

Disappointed

I purchased this Genius10 charger in August 2022 and now, in July 2023, it has failed. I contacted NOCO and they will repair it under warranty but I have to pay to send it back and it can take up to three weeks to get it repaired. Then, we have the return shipping time. I have four CTEK chargers that are at least three years old and most of them are older. I’ve never had a failure. I cannot in good conscience recommend this equipment.

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Report Abuse

Chris K

8/3/2023

3 of 5 people found the following review helpful.

Not Sure If This Works

I'm not too sure if this charger work. I charged my Optima Yellow top twice. Both times the Genius10 charged to full and enter maintenance mode. Install the battery in the vehicle and never started. Took my voltmeter out and shows 11.7V. Took my yellow top to a parts store and they tested the battery dead under load.

I want to test this with a different battery but I don't have another dead battery laying around.

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Report Abuse

LeoH

3/9/2022

13 of 20 people found the following review helpful.

Confused And Unsure Of What It's Doing Me And Telling Me

I have 2 car batteries that died from just sitting there unused (not my daily vehicles). Both were low, so I got the Genius10 as it talked about recovering a dead battery.

Battery 1 - plug it in, and after about 20 min (rather than the 4 hours the manual says) it shows all 4 charge LED's up to 100%. Initial thought was wow - that was great. So I unplugged it, plugged it back in, and it starts flashing the 25% again. Does that for about 1hr, and slowly over 4 hours progresses up to the 100%. This time it only has the 1 green LED for 100%. Battery seems to work (car started), but unsure if it's actually good or not yet.
Why did the LEDs indicate charge when it wasn't charged? Why did the indicators show all 4 charge LEDs the 1st time, and not the 2nd time? The manual does not clarify.

Battery 2 - out of a truck, 850 CCA and the starting voltage was 3.4V. I start with the battery reconditioning mode. It runs for about 3-4 hours, and then turns off. Battery voltage w/o load is about 11V, so I start the normal charging mode. After 2-3 hours it has worked up to 50%, and I head off to bed. 5 hours later, all the LEDs are flashing. the "error flashing" from the manual talks about the 3 status LEDs flashing in case of an error. I have ALL the LEDs flashing, not just the error indicators ones from the manual. I unplug, plug back in, and they are still all flashing. unplug for 4 hours, and they are still flashing. Nothing in the manual, and when I try to reach support, they are apparently out today (3/9/22), so I will just wait and see

Basically the various LED light options are confusing as things behave differently, and the various LED options are not all documented. is my 1st battery all OK, or was that a false sense of success? What is going on with my 2nd battery?

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Report Abuse

DrivewayWoodworker

7/22/2022

4 of 22 people found the following review helpful.

WORKS GREAT, No Case And No Other Accessories

I still may return this because I need it for camping but was disappointed to find out that there was no case and no extra connectors. I paid full retail because I needed it but I think after my week of camping it will go back. Given I like things to be tidy I only like to buy things that have cases and I should have checked first. So if you're like me and you like things to be tidy don't buy this one cuz there's no case.

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Report Abuse

Randall Conner

3/19/2024

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful.

Junk Customer Support ( What Support)

Waited 15 minutes on hold then was told to push# and they would call back, 4 hours later still waiting. If they’re that busy (red flag) product must be junk. Also I read if the product has to come in, you have to pay shipping (both ways). I got a three bank charger for Christmas $212.00 and hooked up in mid January, noticed in February one bank was not working, but can’t get a hold of nobody.

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Report Abuse

Cheated Guy With An Electric Outboard Engine

6/12/2023

5 of 7 people found the following review helpful.

Cheated: NOT Delivering The Product Promise For Ca Battery

I have a small boat with electric outboard engine and with a Ca battery. Genius 10A's user guide says this product supports charging Ca batteries, so I bought this product. Now I've found out that you can charge the Ca battery only to about 50-60% of the battery capacity with Genius 10A using AGM mode with voltage of 14.8 V. Ca battery requires max voltage of about 16 V at times for the full charge.

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Report Abuse