GENIUS2D Reviews

4 /5

10 Reviews

60 % Of Reviewers Recommend This Product

Back to Product

Roy

3/27/2024

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.

Great Product For Retired Persons Living On The Canadian Prairies During Winter Months

My Genius 2D is direct mounted for charging during winter months when you don’t drive for days at a time.
The smart charger keeps the cold battery from completely discharging so it will start when you need your truck. In the past I would need a battery boost when the cold battery was too discharged to start my truck. This is the third winter using the Genius 2D smart charger and I have had no trouble starting my truck when I need it.
The only glitch is a fatigue failure of the plastic cord hanging out the front of my truck. I repaired the cord with a rubber stress relief cord cover. A rubber cord would be a good product improvement for winter climates.

Yes, I recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Report Abuse

HARVEY

1/21/2022

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful.

Aboslutley PERFECT ! ! !

For those that don't know, slow trickle charge is the best way to get the longest charge on the battery and the longest life. This charger not only does the slow trickle charge, but it also is a smart charger that can detect and desalinate when needed. It doesn't even have any switches of buttons. As long as you can mount it, plug it in, and hook positive and negative up correctly, this may very well be the cheapest and easiest way to have a strong, long lasting battery.
I even ended up accidentally doing an actual comparison with 2 similar size Black & Decker. I bought a new Duracell 800 CCA, size BCI 78. I set it in the house and had it on the Black & Decker charger for a week. It took 2 days to charge, but I left it on all week to maintain it. So I got my NOCO in at the end of that week. Before I go to mount the new battery and everything, I decide to go ahead and test out the new NOCO. It blinked red for a couple hours indicating it was below 75% charged. It then flashed green for like another hour or so, indicating it was between 75% to 100%. then after a total close to 4 hours it went to a steady green which means it's 100%. So think about that. The Black & Decker charged in 2 days, and then kept it maintained all week. Then simply hooking up the NOCO while the battery should have been a solid 100%, the NOCO analyzed it and determined it was below 75%, and fixed in 4 hours. I rarely have good things to say, but I took the time out to review this on here and Amazon because some people out there may be on a tight budget , and this can really help them out. Also, the price here was better than Amazon

Yes, I recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Report Abuse

Greg

12/7/2022

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful.

Easy Install

Fits perfectly and out of the way in my engine bay (2019 Volvo S60 r-design T6 AWD). Work great! Highly recommend NOCO products

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Report Abuse

KJ

6/16/2023

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful.

This Is The Charger To Get

I've had battery chargers since I was 14y, now in my 50's. Had a dead battery in a classic car that had been sitting, regular trickle charger wouldn't even start. "High tech" smart charger gave up. Battery measured 2.2 volts. Hooked up the 2 amp Nico, next morning car started right up as if it had a brand new battery! Couldn't believe it! Better than most automotive chargers at twice the price.

Yes, I recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Report Abuse

Matthew

12/18/2023

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful.

Vehicle Cranks In The Cold!

I have had this maintainer hard wired onto my car's battery for about a month.
The battery is rated above the limits of the Noco 2D, but it does not stop the maintainer from keeping my battery topped off and operational in the cold weather.

I have the maintainer paired with a heated battery blanket, and engine block heater.
In cold weather (Fort McMurray), all three items are plugged into the block heater extension cord and run off a timer that comes on 4 hours before I need to leave.
With the maintainer installed, I have noticed that my vehicle cranks and starts more quickly than in years past.

I am a vehicle technician by trade, I understand the limits of this unit, and time required to charge and top-off batteries. This is a 2Amp trickle charger, and it's designed for 40Ah and under batteries. Most vehicle batteries will be way over this. If your vehicle has an excessive parasitic current draw, or your battery has come to the end of its life, this unit may not keep up (not it's fault).

I would say I am very happy with this maintainer, and would recommend it to anyone to keep their vehicle battery topped off and ready for those cold starts.

Yes, I recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Report Abuse

Matt

2/21/2021

22 of 23 people found the following review helpful.

Good Product

Has been on my truck, which sits outside in NH, for about a month. Has kept my battery from draining in these cold winter temps (sub-20 degree average) in-between days it gets started/driven. Would recommend if you just need something to pair well with your block heater to protect your battery from draining.

Yes, I recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Report Abuse

3CW

12/12/2021

17 of 19 people found the following review helpful.

Great On Board Charger

We use the Genius2D on 3 of our vehicles and on a skid steer. We also have the 4 amp model in our diesel truck, which has 2 batteries. These chargers are small and relatively easy to install, you just need to find a space close to your battery. If we are not using our vehicles / equipment, this battery charger is plugged in and can be plugged in indefinitely. This NOCO will not overcharge the battery, but keeps it at peak charge and ready for use. It is great for vehicles that are not used for a week, a month or more. If you have a weak battery, this charger will not fix it … but it will prevent a good battery from discharging when it is not being used. The only reason I did not rate this 5 stars is the 120 volt and 12 volts leads are a too short ... I found that in some applications I had to extend the leads ... or at least get very creative in the mounting location which can make the display light not easy to view. I highly recommend this product for its durability and industry leading battery charging technology. Thanks NOKO.

Yes, I recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Report Abuse

Andy

3/13/2024

Sleek And Handy But Not As Smart As It Looks

Nice to have onboard charging but it failed to tell me battery had died. I ended troubleshooting everything but the battery bc it had a happy green LED. Parts store told me in seconds it was Kaput. Wasted a lot of time and worry because my NOCO didn't perform as advertised and give me an error when the battery stopped holding a charge.

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Report Abuse

Andy

3/13/2024

Sleek And Handy But Not As Smart As They Say.

Nice to have onboard charging but it failed to tell me battery had died. I ended troubleshooting everything but the battery bc it had a happy green LED. Parts store told me in seconds it was Kaput. Wasted a lot of time and worry because my NOCO didn't perform as advertised and give me an error when the battery stopped holding a charge.

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Report Abuse

Jan

11/18/2023

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful.

Stopped Working After 1 Year, Ruined Battery

I mounted a Noco Genius 2D battery maintainer in my truck and it worked as advertized for ~1 year. This morning, after ~1 month of truck stored in garage, battery was totally flat!!! The Error LED was on steady, said to mean "Reverse polarity. Reverse the battery connections. Or battery voltage is too low for charger to detect.". Since the wiring has not changed, and the battery is ~1 year old, the maintainer failed to maintain the voltage and essentially ruined a new battery. Genius it is not; better buying a "dumb" 2A maintainer anywhere else....

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Report Abuse